My Wrists Don’t Like It When I Knit…

…or do they?

I just recently switched over to continental knitting. This is basically knitting with your left hand instead of throwing the yarn with the right. I ‘m so glad that I finally sat down and taught myself how to do it. The hardest part about it was purling for me, but after doing it over and over it was easy. Now, I’m almost up to speed, but I do need to practice more.

Right now I’m knitting a ribbed scarf so I can practice both knitting, purling and switching over from them both. It’s going well.

Purple Ribbed Scarf

I plan on knitting some more. I’m going to teach a few friends of mine how to knit either this month or next. We’re going to make a little party out of it. I’m definitely going to teach them continental knitting though, which will probably work best anyways since a few of them already know how to crochet. The whole flow of the yarn is still coming from the left, so I’m thinking it’ll be an easy transition for them.

I’ve always loved knitting, even though my wrists complained. But now they don’t have to. Yay! 🙂

2 Comments »

  1. Valerie Said:

    I was taught to knit left handed, although I am right handed and you are correct… it is so much faster and easier. I used to get so mixed up when I watched my mother in law knit and my hands hurt just watching her!

    Good luck and stick with it!

  2. Elizabeth Said:

    Thanks for your comment on my blog. That’s great that switching to continental allowed you to keep knitting. It deserves a medal for that alone!

    Your ribbing in the photo looks great. It’s hard to get even tension in rib, so it’s impressive how you’re able to get that level of evenness using a new technique.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

