Chicken Steak

I’m close to Philly and most of my life I’ve eaten steak sandwiches. I love them. I, for some reason, never liked them with cheese on them. What’s weirder is I love cheese. I’m just not fond of my steak sandwiches with cheese. That’s also why I don’t call them cheesesteaks. I prefer mine with fried onions. 🙂

A typical cheesesteak sandwich

A typical cheesesteak sandwich

Why am I talking about this now? It’s because I had chicken steak for dinner. No, not chicken fried steak. That’s a whole other yumminess. Oh, why not beef, you ask? I stopped eating beef a while back ago. I also stopped eating cheese too. I’m dairy free. That’s doesn’t matter anyway because I wouldn’t have put cheese on my chicken steak anyway. I’ll talk about being dairy free in another post at another time, though.

There’s really no point to this blog. I haven’t had chicken steak for a while and I was wondering why because I love it. It’s funny, when I was younger I thought every major city in the U.S. had steak sandwiches and people selling soft pretzels on the street. I love Philly food!

I prefer to make them myself or order from someone nearby. I know, I’m a bad Philly girl. Then again, I can’t really be called a Philly girl because I never lived in Philly. Just the suburbs of Philly.

I’ll probably talk about soft pretzels in another post as well. They deserve their own post. Yes, they’re that great.

So, what are some of your regional specific foods? Does your city have one? Let me know.

Leave a Reply

